How to Stop Track-It Creating a New Work Order When Appending a Closed Work Order

There has been some confusion among users with Track-It’s “Append” feature.  The purpose of this feature is to enable users to add information to a work order via e-mail and the customer Self Service portal. Similarly, technicians can update work orders via e-mail and the technician web portal and. In this article, I will explain how to prevent a duplicate email being created when a user attempts to add information to a closed work order.

Append details to work order

When users click the “Append” link in a work order notification or replies directly to the notification to submit additional information when the work order is already closed, a new work order is created rather than appending and re-opening the existing one. This action is not an error; Track-It is designed to operate like this.

Customers have requested that when appending additional information to a closed work order, the issue is re-opened rather than creating a new work order. This enhancement was included in Track-It 10 but to not cause a behaviour change for thousands of customers, the setting is set to work as it always has, creating a new work order, unless the user changes it.

To stop the new work order from being created when users append additional information to a closed work order, please take the following steps:

 For Track-It! 11.2,11.3 and 11.4

  • In Technician Client click Tools -> Administration Console.
  • Under Configuration -> Help Desk -> E-mail Configuration, click on Work Order Updates.
  • Near the bottom, enable the “Allow incoming e-mails to reopen closed Work Orders” option.
  • Click OK.
  • Restart the Track-It! Service Management service.

For Track-It! 10.x, 11.0, and 11.1

To change the behaviour, take the following steps:

  1. On the Track-It Server, open the following directory (default):

                C:\Program Files\Numara Software\Numara Track-It!\Track-It! Server

  1. Open the timonitor.ini file with Notepad.
  2. Under the [Receive] section of the file, look for the following line:

ReopenClosedWOsOnAppend=0            

If the line does not exist, add it.

  1. Change the setting to the behaviour you want.

0 – Default behaviour to open a new work order and append the email.

1 – New behaviour to re-open the existing work order and append the email.

  1. Save the changes to the file.
  2. Restart the Track-It! Service Management service.

In some cases, on work order closure, the Closed work order Notification email triggers an “Out Of Office” email back to Track-It! E-mail Monitor. If those e-mails DO contain the [[WO#xxx]] code somewhere in the subject or body it will bypass any E-mail Monitor rules and try to match to an existing work order. Now depending on the above setting in the Work order Updates, it will either reopen the closed Work order or Creates a New Work Order.

You may need to setup an Outlook rule or something that will remove those e-mails from the E-mail Monitor inbox before it has a chance to be read by the E-mail Monitor if you do not want the Closed Work Order to be reopened.

Conclusion

The purpose of the “Append” feature is to enable users to add information to a work order via e-mail and the customer Self Service portal. Fortunately, the changes required to Track-It that allows the updating of closed work orders is very straightforward and can be carried out by the senior technician without paying for a consultant to come and make the change.

You may also want to read the following articles about Track-It!

How to load a Track-It! license file

Embedded images not added as attachments to work orders created by E-Mail Monitor in Track-It! 11.2

E-mail replies cause new work orders to be created even though “RE:” rules are in place

Please follow us on Twitter at @OnsoftSA. Join our email list and receive breaking news about Track-It.

 

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search